How can I obscure sensitive data captured in Chat Flow?
Articles in this section
When using the "Request input" node in Chat Flow, you have the option to enable a “Sensitive” toggle when asking the user for sensitive information that you do not want in the chat. If the “Sensitive” toggle is turned ON, the user is presented with a link when they arrive at this step in the flow. Clicking the link takes the user to a secured, external website hosted by Clickatell where they can enter the sensitive data (e.g., a password). When the user clicks ‘Submit’ they are taken back to the channel to continue with the next step.
When the “Sensitive” toggle is turned ON, the information provided by the user in this step is masked out in the Chat Flow logs, is not visible (even to the user themself) within the channel, and if the user is transferred to Chat Desk, the information the user entered is masked out with asterisks (see image below).
The “Sensitive” toggle is turned OFF by default. The information provided by the user in this step is visible in the Chat Flow logs, in the chat channel, and for the agent to read when the conversation with the user is transferred to Chat Desk.
Contact our support team and one of our agents will be in touch with you to answer any questions you have.
Ask the community
Visit Stack Overflow to join our community of developers and find the answer you need.
Access the latest technical information regarding Clickatell’s channels, products and APIs.